Posted by: Arthur337 | April 12, 2009

Damn, am I a hipster?

I’m not even aware of the urban culture called hipster until I wrote the last entry below. So I went to the net and did some reading on this culture. As silly and embarassing it may seem, I can totally see myself partially in this category. I think it is apparent when I named the title of this blog The Bohemian Delirium, which bohemianism can be strongly tied to that culture of anti-mainstream. I don’t know where I first got this influence, perhaps back in the days of Cornell when I started to like art.

Here are some definitions of Hipster from the UrbanDictionary.com

  • People in thier teens to 20s who generally listen to indie rock, hang out in coffee shops, shop at the thrift store and talk about things like books, music, films and art.
  • Hipsters are a subculture of men and women typically in their 20’s and 30’s that value independent thinking, counter-culture, progressive politics, an appreciation of art and indie-rock, creativity, intelligence, and witty banter….The “effortless cool” urban bohemian look of a hipster is exemplified in Urban Outfitters and American Apparel ads which cater towards the hipster demographic. Despite misconceptions based on their aesthetic tastes, hipsters tend to be well educated and often have liberal arts degrees, or degrees in maths and sciences, which also require certain creative analytical thinking abilities. Consequently many hipsters tend to have jobs in the music, art, and fashion industries…….a lot of anti-hipster sentiment evidently comes from culturally-clueless suburban frat boy types who feel that the more sensitive, intelligent, and culturally aware hipster ideal threatens their insecure sense of masculinity. Anti-hipster sentiment often comes from people who simply can’t keep up with social change and are envious of those who can.  – Trey Parasuco
  • Someone who thinks that they are being “special” and “unique” for liking some underground bullshit no one else cares about. And they pointlessly look down on people who don’t know anything about indie culture, because that’s the only thing they know anything about. – Lexi

bingo

Based on the definitions of Hipster, to some extend, yes I am one. I love books, literature, poetry, music, film and art. Yes, I love looking at art pieces that don’t make any sense, wondering what goes into the mind of the demented artist. Yes I love indie music and other songs by non-mainstream artists, typically found in TV soundtracks such as Scrubs and Grey’s Anatomy. Yes I am semi-antiestablishment (I’m libertarian). And yes, I would like to live at a warehouse-turned-loft with fancy art pieces on the wall and artsy books everywhere.

But no, I don’t care anything about hipster fashion. I don’t dress like a slob. I don’t like to wear tight jeans, or anything vintage from the thrift store, or even weird sunglasses (though I love to visit Urban Outfitters). No I don’t work low-paying jobs – well, what I meant is that I am climbing a normal corporate career ladder. And no, I don’t live off my parents money.

So am I?

Responses

  1. No. Scrub’s and Grey’s Anatomy? Wow okay.

  2. No you are not a hipster…or at least what people say a hipster is. Lots of people enjoy the same things you do (such as me although I do love thrift stores lol) and not be of that subculture. It’s seems to be more about putting on an act really. Most of them pretend to be poor while spending their parents’ money. I grew up poor myself so I am a true self-reliant person in that sense. I do love a lot of musicians most people don’t know of but I’m not doing that on purpose. I just really love music so I look up artists online a lot or I have friends that show me some sounds they like. If I like it, I like it. There is not pretending there. Some underground music is crap. I don’t instantly hate a band because they are more popular unless their music becomes shit lol.

    I think people are so quick to judge what’s what and get caught up in categorizing things and people. Honestly, I don’t give a shit as long as you’re a decent person, nothing else should matter. Focusing on labels and fashion are a bit too shallow and it puts us back rather than making progress. It all just seems like a front to hide who we really are. Sure, we all do a certain amount of pretending in our lives to get by but where does that really get us?

  3. To some extent, you are. Hipsters are really people who fit all the things that you say, but they don’t “try” to be hipster. And they usually don’t shop at Urban or AA. Really, they are people who just are independent with their thoughts, ideals, and values and don’t really care about what people say about them.

  4. I think I’m a hipster and that makes me sad. I’m a writer, i love films and indie music, although I’m not a music snob. I shop at thrift stores cause I’m too poor to buy new things. I have a well paying job, but that was a fluke. and I have glasses.

    Can someone please put me out of my misery?

  5. I’ve learned a lot from your blog here,I loved this! Great job! I’m subscribing! Welcome to my Web:SMALLVILLE DVD BOX SET 1-9 Seasons

  6. What is this “why me?” mentality in regards to being a hipster?; it’s not a curse word. It is merely the equivalent of “brunette” or “agile”: a description of oneself that has no bearing on the individual’s character, IMHO. The reason that no one can distinctly define what it means to be a “hipster” is because if all hipsters have the exact same traits, that negates the purpose of being a “hipster”. One cannot consciously become a hipster, as one in effect becomes a “poser”. To avidly shop for thrift attire for the sake of being different and to pick Pabst because no one else drinks it is 1) annoying, 2) counter-productive, and 3) hypocritical. A hipster (at least as I always understood) inherently values all of the stereotypically hipster things: individualism/independent thought, anti-superficiality, and eccentric arts. Why? Because the hipster (myself included) recognizes that these qualities are QUALITY, not part of the materialistic “stuff” that plagues the media, schools, and the mind today. Is it coincidence that Beat, Beatnik, Hippie, and Hipster cultures widely surfaced as America became a bustling, monopoloid nation that suppressed he/she who was different? The ideals of a hipster merely mirror the ideals inside every American (though not mutually exclusive to the States, as we hipsters unconsciously adopted many foreign policies) that yearns for something deeper than the assembly-line lifestyle that accompanies a corporate job and a suburban home. To be a hipster simply means to live in a neo-Enlightenment state of mind. So if someone calls you a hipster, don’t become angry. Take it as the compliment that it truly is.

  7. Pharmacy Technician employment opportunities are abundant. Pharmacy technicians operate in a wide variety of operate settings like retail pharmacies this sort of as CVS, Walgreens and Osco, hospitals and elderly treatment services. The hrs are commonly several from the “typical” nine-five online business several hours, ordinarily requiring evening and weekend operate. Demand Buy Tramadol COD quite robust for the next five-10 a long time considering that the baby boomer era is getting into the stage of their lives in which they are far more most likely to use prescriptions.


Leave a Reply

Categories

